The contenders for BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2012

Last week the BBC announced a special 12-person short-list for their 2012 Sports Personality of the Year.

The coveted award enjoys a special status this year given Team GB’s success at the London Olympics, Andy Murray’s Grand Slam success in New York, and Bradley Wiggins triumph in this year’s Tour De France, thus making the competition even higher than usual.

The Sports Personality of the Year award has enjoyed increased notoriety over the past few years with legendary sports stars such as Andrew Flintoff and Ryan Giggs picking up the accolade.

Whilst the nominees were announced last Monday, we will not find out who is the lucky recipient of the award, currently held by cyclist Mark Cavendish, until Sunday 16 December.

Above we preview the 12 people nominated for this year’s award and see what kind of year they’ve had.

More information on the BBC Sports Personality of the Year

Leave a Reply
Related Posts